Today’s blog is devoted to the national language of my country India – Hindi. Surprisingly, yesterday was National Hindi Day but the fact that I wrote something different yesterday is the reason I am writing about it today. Well, I would agree to everyone that how ironical this blog is, it’s about the Hindi language and yet has been written in the English language. But I had no other way, trust me.

So to begin with, Hindi is the national language of India and has quite a history behind it. It is regarded as the most precious and ancient language in our country after Sanskrit. It is more like derived from Sanskrit. The principal point for today’s blog is the lost importance of this language. India is a vast country with various kinds of people with various cultures. There is an interesting fact that is quite famous among the Indians, it says “In India, every 200Km you go, the kind of people and the way they speak changes.” It is really interesting and is heard quite often. Well, it is undeniably correct.

The way people speak in India is really variant, really different kinds. The people’s accent changes sometimes so tremendously that even we Indians don’t understand it and we sometimes don’t have the knowledge of what language they are speaking in. Some places are as ancient that people don’t know how to speak Hindi despite the fact it is the national language of their country. But the fact of the matter is not this, maybe those people are not educated enough to learn it in their time. Maybe they just didn’t go to school and only had the knowledge of their regional language. But what I wanted to talk about here is that even the people who are educated don’t understand it’s importance.

English is a beautiful language. We all know that. It is the international language. Some say that knowing English would let you survive in this world. Well, if not anywhere else, it is said so in India. In India, the people who know English are considered to be having a higher stature in society. Elders are proud of their kids studying English. The case gets even more unusual when you come to know that people flaunt around telling that their child studies and speaks English. This is not wrong. Absolutely not. How can it be wrong? It’s something that the people are just proud of, one can’t mock them for this. But it is strange. Not strange because there is nothing to be proud of, but because in all of this, they carry out the tale so far that they forget being proud of their own language.

Maybe English is a professional language and is a beautiful one, I love it too. But we(citizens of India) need to understand this, we must not forget our culture and moral values in regard to something else. We should be proud of our national things. Hindi is a language as beautiful as English, and I can bet that despite being an English lover. It’s obnoxious to see people defaming the importance of their own things. Everything in this world has it’s own place and so does languages. Hindi has it’s own. And it is indeed a special one, special enough that it deserves to be one of the most respected ones. We Indians are typical. We are so good in playing blame games that we keep on mocking others around for things. In this case, we keep saying that the foreign countries and the people there should respect us and our language, but we forget how the scenario is set right here in our own country and despairingly, we are the ones responsible.

India is a developing country, it is adopting with the world. Now, at present, everywhere English is used as the language for business and not Hindi. Even all the work done related to the central government goes through English. It is just some places, a very few, where Hindi is used to work with. It is not surprising, almost everywhere in the world, the story goes the same way but there, people respect their language as much as they respect English. Yesterday was National Hindi Day and I am sure there are only a few people who might be knowing that. See? People earlier knew the beauty of it and thus, India has witnessed such great authors and poets and writers which have given just huge contributions to this beautiful language. But today, all of that is missing. We do not get to hear that a person has achieved this in Hindi or something like this. It is really disappointing. Knowing English is a great thing, I accept and so does everyone else. But forgetting the importance of your own linguistic treasure is rather devastating.

I don’t know why the things are like this in my country but they are. Even the media knows it. I saw it on the news channel yesterday how they were unveiling this truth and thus, came the idea of writing this blog on such an essential topic. Because it is my duty as well to maintain the dignity of my language and give it utmost respect and do my part in making people realize. They need to understand the beauty of it. I honestly have never been exceedingly interested in Hindi but I know it’s importance. I didn’t like it as much as I admire English but I always knew that the language is my own and has it’s own beauty. I respect it, and I hope all Indians to do the same. Just because this is related to my national language, I proudly say, “Jai Hind!”

Thanks

Vishal

iouhhgytfd_DfcAf_6943

8 thoughts on “Hindi – the language losing it’s importance!

  1. Hello Vishal,
    Well written! However, I am not from Hindi speaking state. Before proceeding further,
    Now the question is whether or not India has to speak the national language?
    According to me, it seems apparent that it does not. India has managed to conduct its affairs for the past 5 decades with its many regional languages and two official languages. Despite the overall failure of the government and the resulting in many problems it has created, the lack of a common language cannot be blamed. 😦
    Certainly, not realizing that declaring a national language would do more harm than good has itself contributed to the problems. The one exception to this might have been Sanskrit, but it would have only served in the symbolic sense. Personally, I might have named Sanskrit the national language (and made the study of it available but entirely optional) and then made all of the regional languages plus English the official languages. Each state government could specify which language(s) it wished to use for communications.
    The question now becomes, could India use a national language? The answer is, of course, yes. It certainly would facilitate mobility for those who wished to travel or take jobs in other states, which is happening more often in recent times. Even so, many of the discussions stated that it really is no problem to learn a new language if one needs to. Rather than being forced to learn ahead of time languages which they may or may not need, many Indians would prefer to just learn them as they need them.
    The absolute need for a common language seems less imperative in this light of your blog β€˜Hindi – the language losing its importance!’ The fact also remains that no matter how much it is desired by some, no language can be enforced in India, and any attempt to instate one will be met with opposition.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Certainly mam! Well said by the way. I totally buy your point that there is no one who can force anyone for a particular language to be assigned to a nation like India where people have so many rights. The point I was trying to make in this blog was not that we should have or can we have a common language or should the government put a compulsion on that, but that the people must not forget their own language before learning the other. Of course, there is no argument in English being the common language for work these days, but it should not overpower the nation that the day comes that people stop learning Hindi and it becomes an ancient language which once existed. We have witnessed the scenario for what happened with Sanskrit and the point is just that Hindi must be kept alive. And yes, totally agreed! Language is one of the necessary rights of a person and forcing one to speak a particular language would perhaps be damaging the morals of this society! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “Some places are as ancient that people don’t know how to speak Hindi despite the fact it is the national language of their country. But the fact of the matter is not this, maybe those people are not educated enough to learn it in their time. ”
    – This statement of yours pushed me to write you a comment πŸ˜‰

    Not just Hindi is losing its importance. Every common languages in India. But overall, I have seen that Hindi speaking people tend to converse in English more than the number of people with other languages as their mother tongues. Do you agree with this?
    For many Indians, mother tongue is not used to express higher level ideas. Thus, while they could convey their emotions in their mother tongue, they might not be able to talk scientific ideas in their mother tongue. Thus, they would want to talk in English when they want to express. Personally I was forced to use English at school & home. In some of the schools I studied, we needed to pay a penalty of Rs.0.50 for every non-English word we used in the class. Quite a sick system if I think about it now. πŸ˜€ The school thought that their brand would go down if the society saw us speaking in those “dirty” native languages. We still used Tamil words when our Madam was not looking at us, and it was as though we were hiding as robbers. Fortunately for me, my parents always encouraged me to learn Tamil, Hindi and Sanskrit (I can speak in only the first two). πŸ™‚

    P.S I will be stopping-by often to read your blogs πŸ˜‰ . Cool Stuff I’m waiting for more !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha! Actually yes, we don’t use our mother tongues to pen down and express our ideas and thoughts, we tend to use English more, perhaps we think that it would ascend the quality of our expression and maybe it does. I am one of those actually. And the fun part is my school does the same, but the point my school makes for this is different. They want us to speak English considering the importance it has gained in the world, and the idea is true, even if it forces us. And thanks for the compliments mam, I am pleased that you liked the blog. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow! Thanks a lot mam, this means a lot to me, I mean it’s just been 2 weeks since I’ve actually begun with my writings, and I didn’t know that an amazing blogger like you will once compliment me and nominate me for this award! Big thanks! πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Hey Vishal πŸ™‚ I am happy that I brought a smile on your face. Happy to have nominated you, you’ve been awesome since I first found your blog! Congrats! You totally earn it. πŸ™‚
        You are a great writer, please know this. ❀ If you need any help with that, I would be happy to do so with you. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

