The cold passed reluctantly from the earth, and the retiring fog revealed an unbelievable scene before me. A homeless kid, with just a torn cloth wrapped around his waist, was sitting in the corner of the street. He was feeding his mother, who seemed to be pretty ill and the cold weather only added to her misery. The kid seemed to be 7-8 years of age, was so thin that his ribs were clearly visible and was of a dark complexion. Both of them were shivering. But the child was strong enough to not let her mother see his pain. Because the pain of an ill mother in the biting cold was more severe to him than the cold hurting his body. I stood there watching this bizarre yet astounding scene of child showing his affection for his mother, even when he himself was in pain. People say that true love is lost these days but, that day, it was right before me. I went there and handed him the little amount of money that I had for him to but some food for himself and his mother.

I went home, and spent the whole day thinking about this muzzling and unforgettable incident. I thought that in this world of lost humanity, it was so strange to see selfless love being cherished even among the harshest of circumstances. People today have something to complain about all the time, be it their needless pleasures or something done by their parents. But, there are still people on this planet who know how to respect that without having any luxuries.

I collected some old clothes of mine to give to the boy. So, the next morning, I ran hastily to the same corner of the street but this time, they weren’t there. I waited there for a while but then I went with the thought of coming back again the next day. And so I did, again with those clothes. But I wish I hadn’t, because what I saw was excruciatingly dissatisfying. I saw the mother crying with the body of the boy in her hand. Her hands filled with guilt and remorse. Her daunting cry made me shiver. I lost hope.

I went back again, irritated. It was a misery to see her in pain, which now was even more severe. The wold had been ruthless to them. Maybe even the gods. But was it fair for the boy to pay the price of his true love and affection by death? Sometimes, karma is difficult to understand just as it was here. It’s a curios question, for many I suppose, why do the wrong things happen to the right people? Maybe someday I’ll know. But for now, it remains unanswered…………

-Vishal

PS: I am posting after a long time. The frequency of the posts has reduced drastically due to the fact that I’m in college. But to be sure, the posts will keep coming. Follow my blog for more posts. 🙂

23

Leave a Reply

