A rough day at the training ended, and luckily it was the final day. Two days later, we had to run ourselves into the battle against the enemy nation with a 50% chance of returning alive (luckily again). We were being instructed.
As we all prepared ourselves for the war, we packed our stuff along with the emotions but the one thing that we couldn’t pack and leave was memories. But it was in some way, positive for us because we had to have something to motivate us to return alive, return alive for someone who’s waiting. As we entered the battlefield, all I could think of was my daughter, whom I promised to be there for her birthday which was a week later. But to keep that promise, I had to live, and that was the only thing I was unsure of.
As the war began, we marched on with broad shoulders, arms, and weapons. Also with a flag attached to the uniform just above the heart in spite of being inside it as well. We waited for the opposition to bring the fight to us, and they did. 3 days of continuous warfare and thence, it ended. It ended with a win for us, but this wasn’t a happy win, it was a mixed one because I lost 3 of my friends and that counts as a bigger loss. I survived somehow, and it took me another 2 days to get back to reality and get over with the loss I faced.
I was conscious but unhappy. But my mind was mature enough to move on. It was time for me to head home and see my wife and my daughter who had been suffering more than me all this time. Reminiscing, waiting for me. As I was heading back, I was trying to pull myself together and preventing myself from adding on to their misery. On the way, I bought my girl some presents and a chocolate, and I head home. I reached late in the night. I always had a spare key of the house, so I opened the door and quietly sneaked in.

-Vishal

790568-door-wallpaper

Leave a Reply

